2585 County Rd 29,
We are fortunate to have St. Andrew’s United Church once again as a Maple Run Tour stop.
St. Andrew’s, with its beautiful stone walls and distinctive red tile roof, was built in 1897, although congregations had met in the village since 1838. Interestingly, a clay tile roof was in the original plans for the building, but was not installed at the time of construction in 1897. It would be nearly 100 years later, in 1990, and following almost a century of roof repairs, that the tile roof was finally added. Beautiful stained glass windows, carefully repaired and re-leaded, are another notable feature of the church, and is its uncommon sanctuary design.
In this spacious location, you can experience the art and craftsmanship of the following 5 artists:
Nadine Sculland – Exquisite miniature quilts and sewn items
Karen Bernard – Paper artist
Karl Kischel – Watercolour and acrylic artist
Laurel Cook – Animal portraiture
Colin Hamer – Pewterware: one of Canada’s few remaining pewtersmiths